Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Masters Students from Developing Countries in UK 2021

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine invites applications for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships (PH4D) for Masters Students from Commonwealth Developing Countries in the UK for the 2021-22 academic year.

Funded by the UK Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and LSHTM, the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme (CSSS) enables talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required to support sustainable development. These scholarships are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

This year, Commonwealth Scholarship Commission UK (CSC) and LSHTM are offering one scholarship award under the CSSS ‘Strengthening health systems and capacity’ theme for MSc Public Health for Development programme.

Worth of Award

Each scholarship award will provide:

  • CSC-approved airfare for a student from the student’s home country to the United Kingdom, and return home at the end of the award.
  • MSc Public Health for Development tuition fees (at the overseas fee rate, and including the mandatory field trip fee).
  • GBP 1,369.00 monthly maintenance stipend (London metropolitan area rate).
  • Warm clothing allowance, where applicable.
  • Reimbursement of Tuberculosis test fees, when required for a visa application, at a pre-determined amount set by the CSC.

The scholarships will also provide

  • Thesis grant towards the cost of preparing a thesis or dissertation, where applicable.
  • Study travel grant towards the costs of study-related travel within the UK or overseas.
  • Excess baggage allowance for return home up to the specific rate as set by the CSC.
  • Disability Support Allowance for personal living costs (if eligible).
  • For Scholars who are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, a child allowance of GBP 478.00 per month for the first child, and GBP 118.00 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16.
ALSO READ:   NNPC, NAOC, OANDO JV Tertiary Scholarship Scheme for African Students in Nigeria 2021


To be eligible for these scholarships:

Applicants must be

  • a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country or be a British Protected Person.
  • permanently and continually resident in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • available to start their academic studies in the UK at the start of the 2021-22 academic year (September 2021).

To be eligible, applicants must also

  • hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2.1) standard, or a lower second class level (2.2) plus a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree) by September 2021. CSC cannot accept work experience in lieu of this minimum academic qualification. Neither will CSC fund a second UK Master’s degree unless suitable justification for this is submitted. Please do not apply unless you meet the CSC minimum requirements.
  • be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue their proposed course of study and meet LSHTM’s English language proficiency requirements.
  • not have studied for one academic year or more in a high-income country (for CSC purposes this is classified as a country that does not appear on the DAC list of ODA recipients).

Similarly, applicants must

  • not have worked for one year or more in a high-income country (for CSC purposes this is classified as a country that does not appear on the DAC list of ODA recipients).
  • confirm that neither they nor their families would otherwise be able to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship.
  • commit to returning to their home country within one month of the end of their award.
ALSO READ:   Junior Achievement Nigeria Venture in Management Program for Entrepreneurs in Nigeria 2021

Eligible Commonwealth countries for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships (PH4D) include:

  • Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini,
  • The Gambia, Ghana, India,
  • Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho,
  • Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria,
  • Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda,
  • Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka,
  • Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuata, Zambia.

How to Apply

The application process has two steps: Submit a complete

Step 1

application for study for 2021-22 MSc Public Health for Development.

Step 2

CSSS application for funding via the CSC’s online application system.

Deadline: Applicants must meet all eligibility criteria and complete both application steps outlined by the scholarship application deadline of 16:00 (BST) on Friday, April 9, 2021.

Click here for more details and to apply