16th Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting in Nigeria 2021

Applications are currently ongoing for the 16th Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting in Nigeria in 2021.

The Wole Soyinka Centre for Investigative Journalism (WSCIJ) rewards, promotes, and encourages best practices in journalism works from the print, radio, television, photo, online, editorial cartoon broad categories as well as from other special categories which focus on themes ranging from regulatory failures, corruption in the public and corporate spheres, and human rights abuses in the country.

Judges are selected from a pool of veteran investigative journalists, media professionals and academics for the award programme which has so far rewarded produced 102 finalists, 11 investigative journalists of the year, and 24 honorary awards recipients for their outstanding works.

Worth of Award

  • The award includes a cash prize, an award plaque, a certificate of commendation, a computer backup hard drive, and an international study tour.
  • Apart from the investigative reporting category, the award also has two honorary awards— the Lifetime Award for Journalistic Excellence and the Anti-corruption Defender Award, to honour the great past of the media profession, and to recognize individuals or organizations for their noteworthy stance against corruption respectively.
ALSO READ:   Masters in Textile and Clothing Technology at TU Dresden in Germany 2021



  • award is open to any Nigerian professional reporter or team of reporters (full-time or freelancers), 18-years and above, who have published stories either online, in print, or through electronic media, primarily targeted at and received by a Nigerian audience.
  • main criterion for eligibility is that the work (single work or single-subject serial) must involve reporting on public, and/or corporate corruption, human rights violation, or the failure of regulatory agencies.
  • story should reflect a high quality of investigation in terms of newsworthiness, capacity to expose or prevent clandestine activities, corruption in the public domain, an understanding of human rights implications enhanced by the quality of presentation.

Such works should have been first published or broadcast in Nigerian media between 4th October 2020 and 3rd October 2021.

How to Apply

The submitted entries should include:

  • A brief synopsis of the story/series (maximum 400 words), picture, or portfolio.

In the synopsis, the applicant is expected to:

  • Explain the background of the project, identifying the issues and key players.
  • Describe what led to the topic or caption, any unusual condition faced in developing the project, and whether the investigation had any ramifications.
  • Describe challenges to the content of the story/series that were not reported in the original work.
  • Include up-to-date Curriculum Vitae for every reporter who bears the byline of the story with passport photograph(s).
  • Include any relevant background information on submitted work(s).
ALSO READ:   Top Global Opportunities for Africans to Explore in Education 2021

Deadline: The deadline for submission of entries for the 16th Wole Soyinka Award for Investigative Reporting is on Sunday, October 24, 2021, by 4 pm.

Click here for more details and to apply